You are here

About INES

Founded in 2004 in Paris, the International Network for Engineering Studies (INES) is an interdisciplinary arena of scholarly research and teaching built around the question: What are the relationships among the technical and nontechnical dimensions of engineering practice, and how do these relationships change over time and from place to place? Addressing and responding to this question can also involve engineering studies scholars as critical participants in the areas they study including, for example, engineering professional configuration and formation, engineering work practices, engineering design, equity (gender, racial, ethnic, class, geopolitical inclusion within engineering), and engineering’s service to society.

Membership in INES is designed to complement memberships in other professional societies—the constitutive disciplines and areas of study upon which INES scholarship builds. INES' mission is threefold:

  1. Advance research and teaching in historical, social, cultural, political, philosophical, rhetorical, and organizational studies of engineers and engineering;
  2. Build and serve diverse communities of researchers, teachers, and thoughtful (reflexive) practitioners interested in engineering studies; and
  3. Link scholarly work in engineering studies to broader discussions and debates about engineering education, research, practice, policy, and representation.

Officers and Directors

Under our bylaws, INES is administered by the following Officers and “Network Administrators” or liaisons to other professional societies and organizations. (The officers and liaisons together serve as INES’ Directors according to our charter and bylaws.)


Co-Chair Brent K. Jesiek (Purdue University)
Co-Chair Caitlin D. Wylie (University of Virginia)
Past Chair Jessica Smith (Colorado School of Mines)
Secretary/Treasurer Konstantinos Konstantis (National and Kapodistrian University of Athens) / Jonah Bea-Taylor (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers)
Editor-in-Chief (Engineering Studies) Jessica Smith (Colorado School of Mines)
Web Editor Brent K. Jesiek (Purdue University)
Social Media Coordinator Sarah Appelhans (Lafayette College)

Liaisons (Directors):

4S Christine Kirchhoff (Penn State University)
American Anthropological Assn (AAA) Beth Reddy (Colorado School of Mines)
CHSTM Ryan Hearty (Johns Hopkins)
ASEE Jenn Rossmann (Lafayette College)
SHOT/Prometheans Amy Sue Bix (Iowa State)

Editorial Board (Engineering Studies):
Our ISI indexed journal, Engineering Studies, is administered by our Editor-in-Chief with the guidance of its Editorial Board:

Matthew Wisnioski (Virginia Tech), Chair 2018-2021
Aditya Johri (George Mason University) 2018-2019
Vivian Lagesen (NTNU) 2018-2020
Donna Riley (Purdue) 2018-2020
Dominique Vinck (Univ. Lausanne) 2018-2021
Atsushi Akera (Rensselaer) (ex-officio, as INES Chair)

Become a Member – Subscribe!
We invite you to join or renew your subscription to INES and receive a copy of our journal, Engineering Studies.